108 Cupcakes.

It all started with me saying that I wanted to make cupcakes.

& with my roommates encouraging me to make them. But I said, “No, I’m not going to make them if I don’t have a reason.”

Well, last Friday, I got a reason.

It was my friend, Amanda‘s birthday! So, naturally, I offered to make some cupcakes for her birthday gathering on Saturday. She asked for strawberry.

Any normal person would have bought ingredients for strawberry cupcakes, made a batch of 18, and been done with it.

Not me. I may be slightly insane.

Instead of just buying ingredients for strawberry cupcakes, I bought ingredients for 5 kinds of cupcakes. 

(You’re welcome for the recipes.)

I’m pretty sure you don’t understand how crazy this truly was.

I made cupcake batters, 5 icings, and fillings.

Ya’ll, I bought (and used) 4 pounds of butter.

Just call me Paula Deen. I don’t know what I was thinking.

I started baking around 7 pm. My roommates aided me in my insanity, and we still didn’t finish until about 1 am. It took SO LONG.

However, at 1 am, this is what we had:

One hundred and eight cupcakes. They completely covered our table.

There are only 3 people in our house. If we had eaten them all, that would have been 36 cupcakes each (and probably about 8 pounds gained each). No way.

So we took them to Amanda’s party. I took them to class. I took them to BCM lunch on Wednesday. & we have been eating them for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert.

It’s been a week. We have 20 left. Not too shabby, if I do say so myself.

…or absolutely terrible. Depends on which way you look at it.

Anyways, this is what I have learned::

  1. Do not make five batches of cupcakes in one night unless you are preparing for Cupcake Wars on the Food Network.
  2. Cupcakes are relatively easy to give away, but 108 is still a big number.
  3. I’m pretty darn good at making cupcakes.
  4. My roommates and I are pretty darn good at eating cupcakes.
  5. My roommates will not stop me from doing crazy things. They may even help.

But, overall, it was fun. & I’m pretty sure that it was a night we’ll be remembering for a while. Which is definitely good.  I only have a few more months to live with these wonderful people, and I’m all about making some memories.

& if anyone wants a week old cupcake or two (that are still pretty tasty) let me know.  They’re not going to last much longer.

One thought on “108 Cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

