Off Week.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I have off weeks.

Weeks when I get behind on homework.  When I watch a few too many episodes of How I Met Your Mother on my laptop when I should be doing that homework that I’m behind on.  When I spend money that I don’t have to get a manicure.  When I eat way too much junk food and not enough fruits and veggies.  When I don’t spend enough time with God and fall in places that I told myself I wouldn’t fall again. When I can’t wait to escape on Friday afternoon.

It happens.

Last week was off.  Not detrimentally off: I didn’t have any big emotionally breakdowns, I didn’t cry, and I didn’t get so far behind on schoolwork that it’s a big deal.  But I just didn’t feel right.

I was more than excited to get out of town at the end of the week.

There’s something about spending the weekend with good friends and a wonderful group of special needs kids that can fix just about any bad mood.

I got to spend two days with this guy.

Love.

The weekend restored me. It was glorious.

But unfortunately the weekend had to end. & the weekend ending meant leaving my favorite place on Earth (which is always accompanied by a few tears), and coming back to the little mess I had escaped from on Friday.

Last night I told myself that today I would turn everything around and get back to where I wanted to be.

…but then I overslept my morning class.  & took a nap this afternoon instead of reading. & made a microwave sugar cookie (or maybe 2).

& I started to get mad at myself. That is until I thought about all the good things from today.

That when I overslept I got up and did work instead of going back to sleep.  That I got two excellent test grades back today. & That I have two cancelled classes this week.

& I realized that I don’t have  to get everything together at once.  Things happen.  Just because today wasn’t perfect doesn’t mean that this whole week will be another off week.

God doesn’t expect me to get everything together own my own.  In fact, He is the only one who can help me.  I can’t expect myself to have a perfect day just because that’s what I decided.

Not only that, but focusing on the off-ness keeps me from focusing on the goodness.

I’m in a bible study right now that is modeled after Jen Hatmaker’s book 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against ExcessWe talked about focusing on what we’re thankful for during the process, but I didn’t seriously do it until now.

So I’m going to try to post some things I’m thankful for every week for the next little bit. I can’t promise that I will be consistent or deep or what not.  But I know it will be good.

So tomorrow will be the first “Thankful Tuesday” if you will. Let’s just see where that gets me.

One thought on “Off Week.

  1. Pingback: In the Middle of My Little Mess, I Forget How Big I’m Blessed. | The Hairbow Diaries

Leave a Reply

