Elf & Worship.

When it comes to Christmas movies, I have to say that Elf is definitely my favorite.  & I know a lot of people agree with me.  I despise A Christmas Story, and others like The Santa Clause just don’t even come close to Elf.  I love pretty much everything about the movie.  Well, everything except the excessive use of maple syrup which kind of makes me gag.

But overall, I just love itThere’s this awesome scene in the movie when Santa needs more Christmas spirit in order to get his sleigh to fly.  & since everyone knows that “The best way to spread Christmas Cheer is singing loud for all to hear,” Jovie starts singing Santa Claus is Coming to Town. Soon enough everyone is joining in and Santa’s sleigh is getting close to flying.

Everyone is singing along when Michael notices that his dad isn’t really singing, he’s only moving his lips. Even though Walter doesn’t see what the big deal is, as soon as he starts singing, there is enough Christmas cheer to get Santa’s sleigh flying.

I was thinking during church this morning that sometimes I feel like Walter during  worship.

Sometimes, usually because I’m not where I should be spiritually, I just don’t feel like singing the words to whatever song we’re singing.  For example, I feel like I can’t sing that I’m giving everything to God when I know I’m not.  So I just move my lips & act like I’m singing along.

I mean, this isn’t terrible, but I’ve noticed, kind of like Walter, that when I make myself say the words, something neat happens.  Now I’m not saying that Santa’s sleigh flew over my church this morning, but sometimes just making myself sing the words changes something.

Sometimes, even though I know I’m not where I should be, moving past that and worshiping through it makes the biggest difference.  Because here’s the thing, God totally knows where I am.  I can’t fool God by moving my lips just like Walter couldn’t fool his son. & I feel like it’s a whole lot better to worship God from whatever point I’m at than it is to pretend to worship Him.  That does absolutely nothing.

So from now on, I’m going to do my best to sing all the words.  Because for me, it works.  It changes things and starts to make them better.

& who knows, maybe Santa’s sleigh will fly over my church one day.  It would be pretty awesome..

Leave a Reply

