On Down Syndrome.

Today in my ethics class the topic was abortion.  Now I have opinions on whether I think abortion is right or wrong, but that’s not the topic of this post.  While the conversation in class was pretty civil for a topic that people get so passionate about, there were a few things said that made me think.

While discussing questions that arise when considering abortion, the subject of the baby’s quality of life was brought up.  & then the subject of down syndrome was brought up.  & if finding out your baby has down syndrome is a valid reason to abort it.

Nobody in my class spoke up and said they agree with that, but I almost wanted them to because I was waiting for a chance to say this::

I absolutely do not think that finding out a baby has down syndrome is a reason to validate aborting them.

Why? Because I know lots of awesome people with Down Syndrome who have awesome lives.  The have an awesome quality of life, and sometimes I wish my attitude was more like theirs.

& I know lots of people with Down Syndrome who have done amazing things.

In fact, there are several of them who have impacted my life in major ways.  & several of them who have taught me a lot.

Like these guys:

& this guy:

&  this sweet boy:

& this precious girl:

& seriously, the list could go on and on and on.

It’s so important to realize that one extra chromosome doesn’t make somebody’s life worth any less.  These people are some of my favorite people in the whole world.  & they definitely do important and amazing things.  They are hilarious and sweet, and they surprise me all the time.

So don’t underestimate their lives, because if you do, you’re totally missing out.

Leave a Reply

