On Being Sibling-less.

Today is National Sibling Day (yes, it actually exists).  This is a holiday that I will never be able to celebrate.  I’ve seen my facebook friends post adorable pictures of them with their siblings all day today, and it got me thinking:

So I’m an only child.  That’s right- no brothers or sisters for me.  Not even halves or steps. It’s always just been me and the parentals.

& to be honest, I like it that way.  I even pride myself sometimes on not being too much of a spoiled brat for being raised without siblings.

Sure there were times when I was younger when I wished I had siblings to play with or whatever, but since then I’ve wised up.  I like being the only child.

The only obvious downside to this that I can see is that I might never be an aunt, and my kids might not have cousins.  No worries though. There is a simple fix to this problem: marry a guy with at least one sibling. Problem solved.

However, there have been times when I just haven’t understood some of my friends’ decisions, and I feel that if I had siblings, I might be able to relate a little bit better.

For example, when I was in high school, the guy I was dating had a little sister.  His little sister’s birthday just happened to fall on Valentine’s Day.  So on Valentine’s Day, the most romantic holiday of the year (especially for madly in love fifteen year olds), we had dinner with his family.  Yeah, not so romantic.

I didn’t get it.  Shouldn’t I, the object of all his affection, have trumped his sister in this situation? Maybe you would call this selfish, but I felt like his sister would have understood.  I guess maybe I just don’t understand the rules of sibling-ship.

Another example is more current.  My friends and I are in the middle of planning a summer vacation.  It might not sound like a big deal, but for friends who have been split up into several different colleges and hardly ever get to see each other, a few days to catch up is rare and wonderful.

Anyways, when I asked one of my friends if he could come, he said he might not be able to because his sister is coming to visit.  Umm, what?

You might not be able to go on vacation with your best friends because you won’t be able to see you sister? I mean, you see her every couple of months, and the last time this many of your friends were together was at Christmas.  & that was only for a couple of hours.  You’ll see your sister again soon, but this vacation might not happen again.  Things change.

& then, he furthered his point by saying that it might be one of the last times he gets to see her before she has her baby.  Which sounds legitimate, until you consider that she will only be four and a half months pregnant.  He’ll see her again.  But who gets excited about seeing a pregnant girl anyways? I mean, if the baby was coming, I would completely understand, but I didn’t realize 20-year-old boys got excited about growing baby bumps.

So I don’t know if I just have a habit of being selfish with my friends and jealous of their siblings, or if it’s just something that I don’t understand. Or that I can’t understand.

Maybe some of you with brothers and sisters could fill me in here. Are sibling relationships a lot more important that I realize? Or are these situations weird? I’m just wondering since I’ll never be able to understand on my own.

Sometimes the life of an only child is rough. Well, okay, not really.

________________________________________________________________

Note: I wrote this when I was slightly stressed and annoyed.  I am no longer bitter, and everything has worked out.  Just don’t hate me too much for not understanding. 

Leave a Reply

