My Name is Not Angela.

In case there was ever any confusion, my name is Erin.  My name is not Angela.  It never has been, and it never will be. The only Angela I can think of is the character from Who’s the Boss? I don’t even look like her.

That being said, I will tell this story.

Last December, I received a phone call from a number that I didn’t recognize.  But I did what you’re supposed to do when you get a phone call- I answered it.  You figure either it’s somebody you know, or it’s somebody you don’t know. So either that someone will tell you what they need to, or you will set that person straight.

It didn’t go quite that smoothly.

I answered the phone.  The lady on the other end asked for Angela, and I told her that I was not Angela and didn’t know Angela either.  She understood and hung up.  Easy enough, right? Not quite.

The lady calls back.  Once again, I told her that I was not Angela.  She then proceeds to ask me why I have Angela’s phone. Seriously? You’re so sure of your inability to make a mistake that you accuse a stranger of taking somebody else’s cell phone? That’s not okay.

I proceeded to reassure her that I was on my own phone, but that wasn’t enough for her. She asks me where I was.  I told her that I was a student and that I was at school.  That wasn’t enough either.  She then asks me what school I go to. I’m pretty trusting of people, but I am not going to tell a stranger on the phone what college I go to for no reason. Don’t need you to come hunt me down.

She didn’t appreciate my decision.  She wanted to know if I went to Spelman because she used to work there.  Nope, I definitely don’t go to Spelman.  I have nothing against the school, I just have a feeling that I would, um, stick out a little bit if I went there…

Finally, I thought she understood that I was not Angela and did not have her phone, and she stopped calling.

…Until the next day.

She called back again asking for Angela.  This lady never learned.

When I told her again that I was Erin, she got bold.  She told me that she knew I took Angela’s phone.  She also told me that she hoped God would punish me for what I was doing.

Excuse me? I don’t think it’s your place to say something like that.  That is totally God’s job and not yours.  You don’t even know me, so don’t tell me that God is going to punish me for stealing someone’s phone that I’ve never even heard of. *Snap*

But that was the end of that.  My friends and I have joked about Angela many times, but that lady never called back.

…Until today.

Yes, it’s true.  Somebody called me asking for Angela.

There were no threats or accusations, but they could be coming.  I just hope she has finally learned.

The lesson from this? If somebody tells you that you have the wrong number- stop calling them. Really, it’s that easy.  This will save you much embarrassment and frustration.  And will protect you from strangers complaining about you through their blog….

Leave a Reply

