Kindergarten vs College.

Today I was able to go to a retirement party.  I know that probably sounds terribly boring and seems like something I had to be bribed into going to, but that wasn’t the case.  I was actually excited for this retirement party because it was for a very special lady, my former kindergarten teacher Mrs. Jefferson.

Here’s a comparison from my first day of kindergarten to today:

And my class:

I don’t know if too much has changed.  What do you think?

I mean, I still have a hairbow, but unfortunately I no longer wear socks with my sandals or rompers with puffy sleeves.

It was fun to be able to see her again, and it got me thinking about the similarities between kindergarten and college.

In kindergarten I took a nap everyday. This past year of college, I took a nap almost every day.  The only difference is that I used to be forced into taking them, and now I take them very voluntarily.

In Mrs. Jefferson’s kindergarten class we watched caterpillars go from chrysalises to butterflies.  In genetics this past year we watched fruit flies go through the same cycle. While not nearly as exciting, it was strangely similar.

I remember getting in trouble only one time in Mrs. Jefferson’s class, and it was because I was playing with the hair of the boy in front of me in line.  Well, I don’t think this one has a college parallel, but it’s still funny.

In kindergarten I used the computer, and I still use the computer in college.  My skills (and computer) have improved a little bit though.

In Mrs. Jefferson’s kindergarten class we went on a field trip to pick apples at an apple orchard.  In college, I still pick apples.  I just pick them from the stand in the cafeteria. Yeah, that’s not as exciting either.

We also went on a field trip to an exhibit about dinosaurs.  In college I still like dinosaurs.  I just show it by singing that Ke$ha song.

Also, in kindergarten I invented something called the “Touch ‘n Smell Braille Garden” for the invention convention.  I still care about special needs kids now.  Pretty cool.

So while not everything has changed, a whole lot has.  And while kindergarten was wonderful, mostly due to Mrs. Jefferson, I think I would still rather be where I am in college than back there.

I wouldn’t trade my wonderful friends and everything I have learned in the past 14 years for some recess and field trips to the zoo.  Even though not having homework would be nice.

But hey, it’s summer.  So I don’t have to think about school for 3 more months anyways.

One thought on “Kindergarten vs College.

Leave a Reply

