Lessons Learned from Easter Meals and Cafeterias.

Easter weekend can be described in many ways.  Most importantly, of course, is the celebration of Jesus’ resurrection.  However, now that I’m in college, this (thankfully) long weekend includes a few more advantages.

It includes being able to sleep (or not sleep) in a larger-than-twin-size bed for a record three nights in a row.  It includes time spent with family that I hardly ever get to see, and fortunately for me, it includes three whole days where I don’t have to eat in the caf, I mean, “Fresh Food Company.”

It was glorious.  I ate real food at restaurants with my family.  I ate froyo with my friends (and a future service dog named Peggy who kept trying to lick the melted spillage off of the floor).  The best part, however, was Easter lunch at Nanny’s house.  It included ham, green beans, fried okra, potato salad, creamed corn, sweet potatoes, salad, rolls, deviled eggs, macaroni and cheese, chicken and dumplings, chocolate cake, and cupcakes (and honestly, I’m probably leaving something out).

I know.  You’re probably jealous.  And your mouth is probably watering.

I chose to enjoy a sampling of most of these foods because I felt the need to take advantage of the home-cooked availability before I returned to the land of weird mediocrity that is the Mercer cafeteria. I think most of my family did too. Except I’m pretty sure one of my little cousins only ate rolls and cupcakes. Oh well, they’ll learn someday.

This all got me thinking about what the caf has taught me.  So here it goes:

  1. To be thankful for any free meals, especially those that are home-cooked.
  2. That putting cinnamon in brownies is never a good idea (even if the cinnamon toast crunch decoration on top makes them look tempting).  Your mouth will burn.
  3. That apparently it is okay to serve recipes that 5 year olds come up with. Example: crispy peanut butter and jelly wrap.  This is Rice Krispies, peanut putter, and jelly on a tortilla.  Yes, it is as weird as it sounds.
  4. That apparently you can put any combination of leftovers on a sandwich and people will eat it.  Example: raisin, pecan, and shredded cheese sandwich.
  5. That it is possible to make simple vegetables, like carrots and broccoli, taste so funky that nobody will eat them.
  6. That it’s possible to mess up sweet tea.
  7. That cereal is one of the major food groups.
  8. That watery pasta is not appetizing.
  9. That it is possible to live off of cookies and bananas for long periods of time.
  10. That you can use large cans of food as decoration.

In order to not ruin a weekend of good food, I decided against eating in the caf when I got back to campus last night.  Living solely off of Easter candy was working just fine until I almost set off Shorter’s fire alarm while trying to heat Marshmallow Peeps in the microwave.  That would have been an interesting story to tell… especially from someone who was a member of the Marshmallow Peeps Fan Club.

So, unfortunately, it looks like it’s back to the caf for dinner.  Hopefully they’re offering something edible (& more!)

I have calculated the number of caf meals I have left to eat this semester.  I think it’s around 15. Then it’s on to a summer filled with home-cooked, camp, and Haitian food.  And then I will have my own kitchen.  I can totally make it. I think.

Leave a Reply

