Embarrassing Injuries Part 1: Stabbings.

Recently, I had a conversation with some of my friends about injuries.  For me personally, almost every injury I’ve ever gotten comes from something ridiculous.  I don’t have awesome stories behind my scars, just embarrassing stories.  Luckily for you, I don’t mind sharing them.

The first story I’d like to tell is of the time I was stabbed with a pencil.  No, nobody stabbed me because they were angry.  A classmate didn’t accidentally impale the pencil into my hand (although that did happen in my Mom’s classroom once).  Instead of a person, this was the culprit:

Yep, that’s right.  My rolling backpack.  (And yes, I was that cool.) I actually went through two rolling backpacks during my elementary school career.

The picture above isn’t exactly like the model I had, but it’s close.  One feature that my awesomely cool rolling backpack had was a pencil holder on the side.  Why is this awesome? Because I had easy access to my pencils at all times of course.  (I really just made that up. I don’t know why I thought it was a neat feature…)

But anyways, being the ever organized and prepared girl that I am, even at age eight, I always had three sharpened pencils (pink and glittery of course, with my name engraved on them) in that holder.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t smart enough to put the pencils in point down, so sharpened-to-a-point pencils were sticking up in an extremely dangerous fashion.

Everything was fine until one night when I was sitting on the couch doing homework with my oh-so-cute rolling backpack on the floor in front of me.  I’m not exactly sure was happened, but when I stood up, I fell over and on top of my backpack.  Somehow, when I stood back up, my leg looked like like this:

…Except smaller and more realistic looking…

No blood, no pain, just a pencil sticking out of my leg.  I remember walking over to my Dad, showing him, and him pulling the pencil out of my leg.

That’s when it happened.  It started bleeding, it starting hurting, and I started crying. Because, quite frankly, that’s what you do when there’s hole in your body.

Luckily for me, the pencil didn’t break off in my leg, so only a few band-aids were required to fix it.  My leg survived and amputations weren’t necessary, but if  you look at my leg closely today you can still see the scar.

Moral of this story? Don’t get rolling backpacks.  Everyone knows they can hurt your image, but now you know they can also hurt your… legs.

3 thoughts on “Embarrassing Injuries Part 1: Stabbings.

  1. Pingback: Embarrassing Injuries Part 2: Stitches and Broken Bones. | The Hairbow Diaries

  2. Pingback: Embarrassing Injuries Part 3: Bruises. | The Hairbow Diaries

  3. Pingback: Embarrassing Injuries Part 4: A Combination of Scabs and Black Eyes. | The Hairbow Diaries

Leave a Reply

