I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant.

note: I’m definitely not pregnant.

If you are unfortunate lucky enough to have seen the TLC show entitled “I Didn’t Know I was Pregnant” you will understand where I am coming from in this post.

If not, here is a quick synopsis.  Every episode of the show consists of stories of women who birthed children without ever realizing they were pregnant.  The most interesting ones I’ve seen have been: a lady who went into labor on a boat in the middle of the ocean, a woman who delivered her baby in a amusement park bathroom, and a lady who had an emergency c-section while she was unconscious and woke up to a baby.  Crazy.  Usually, I don’t understand how these ladies don’t pick up on the signs.  Until last weekend.

On Saturday morning, I woke up abnormally early with bad back pain.  After tossing, turning, and trying to get comfortable for about an hour, I finally went back to sleep.  When I woke up an hour later, the pain was gone, so I just figured I slept weird, and that was the cause.

Unfortunately, a couple hours later during a wonderful lunch with two of my best friends from home, the pain started to come back.  This time it was worse, and it brought stomach cramps and nausea with it.  No fun at all.  When the pain didn’t disappear after about ten hours, I was forced to go to the emergency room.

I know you get stomach pain, back pain, and nausea when you’re pregnant.  The symptoms were adding up.  Then, after they checked me out at the hospital, they told me they were going to do an ultrasound.  I pretty much knew that when they took pictures of my insides there was going to be a baby– thank goodness both the technician and I only saw organs.

I’m very thankful that there was no baby.  I would’ve had to figure out where it came from.  The most plausible options would have been either God decided to make me the mother of the second immaculately conceived baby, or aliens were using my body as a vessel.  Neither of those are very believable either.  Haha.

Although there was no baby, and I will not be featured on TLC’s next episode of “I Didn’t Know I was Pregnant,” I do have to have my gall bladder removed.  Oh well, at least I don’t have to take care of it after they remove it from my body.

Leave a Reply

